• Start
  • Research print
  • Technologies for Smart Systems print
  • Former Projects print
  • HiTek


Silicon- III-V-Heterointegration for Tera-Hertz-Electronic


The Ferdinand Braun Institute, Leibniz Institute for High Frequency Technology (FBH) and the Leibniz Institute for Innovative Microelectronics (IHP) started the project HiTek launched to develop alternative approaches for high frequency circuits. The core of this project is to combine two technologies: High-integrated BiCMOS chip based on silicon and a second level which is a circuit on indium phosphide base.

Beitrag des IHP

This combination can improve the physical properties compared to exclusive silicon: High power at high frequencies. Indium phosphide circuits can not achieve the high level of integration and production routine of Silicon BiCMOS. The "sandwich" method could therefore be the solution: Both circuits will be connected together, so that the advantages of indium phosphide circuit can be used without losing any of the advantages of the silicon BiCMOS technology. The connection of the two layers is the great challenge of the project.


Both layers will be prepared separately and then combined by a substrate transfer process  which is a kind of wafer bonding process with a subsequent removal of the InP substrate, leading to short interconnects between the two different  technologies. The intention is to raise the performance of the wafer-bonded system compared to the individual circuits based on silicon and on Indium phosphide.

The combination of the circuits would be a breakthrough for terahertz systems.

Both Leibniz-Institutes, the FBH in Berlin, leader in the development of III-V semiconductors, and the BiCMOS-specialist IHP in Brandenburg - accumulate a European- unique expertise together around this chip technology on the way to future applications.


SAW-Project of the Leibniz Community

Das Gebäude und die Infrastruktur des IHP wurden finanziert vom Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung, von der Bundesregierung und vom Land Brandenburg.