• Start
  • Research print
  • Overview


Our Departments Materials Research Materials Research Materials Research Materials Research

Our four Research Programs:

IHP is working on four closely connected long-term research programs. The joint objective is the development of innovative wireless communication technologies. The research programs define the goals for the next two to four years for each level: System Design, Circuit Design, Technology and Material Research.

Wireless Systems and Applications

This program investigates and develops complex systems for wireless communication as prototypes and applications with the objective of finding solutions for hardware/software systems on highly integrated single chips. The vertical research approach is also reflected in the architecture of the addressed systems. Basically, inter-layer interaction is optimized and a vertical migration of semantic elements is performed.

RF Circuits

In this program integrated mm-wave circuits & synthesizers, broadband mixed-signal circuits and circuits for ultra-low-power wireless applications will be designed and realized as prototypes.

Technologies for Smart Systems

The goal of this program is to develop value-added technologies, preferably BiCMOS technologies, by the modular extension of CMOS. The focal points in this program are technologies with high performance, technologies for embedded systems, and the provision of technology access for internal and external designers.

Materials for Micro- and Nanoelectronics

Focus of the research program "Materials for Microand Nanoelectronics" is to secure the institute's long-term technological innovation power by the integration of new materials and device concepts in modern silicon BiCMOS technologies. Of particular importance here are "More than Moore"-approaches for future terahertz and photonic applications.

The building and the infrastructure of the IHP were funded by the European Regional Development Fund of the European Union, funds of the Federal Government and also funds of the Federal State of Brandenburg.